Does twice make it tradition?

Today should be the first day back to work after the Easter holidays. Last year on this day we set off on a long cycle trip, having negotiated some time off.

This year, possibly in keeping with tradition, we’re setting off on a (not so) long cycle trip. However this time we haven’t negotiated time off work. We’ve given it up (for a while).

Leaving work for me was a weird and emotional time. I’d been there, or thereabouts, for 23 years. Almost 24. That’s way too long! I was part of the furniture! Time for a change. Weirdly today someone else will be sitting in my chair, someone else will be doing my work, and someone else will be doing the tea run!

Currently we’re still waiting for an actual moving date. It must be close now as we’re pretty much ready to go but the solicitors for the people we’re buying from are taking an age to get the answers to some questions from our solicitor…

So, this trip? Just to fill in the time till the move, and to maintain tradition we’re heading north (not by bike), via Sheffield (boy and bike drop-off) and Ripon (free night’s accommodation) to do the coast and castles ride. Tomorrow we start riding in Newcastle on Tyne. It will also end in Newcastle in a week or so and goes through Edinburgh… It’s supposedly pretty flat…except for the inland route back from Edinburgh. Should be fitter by then…

As tradition has it I have done as much training as last year. I am a summer cyclist…that can’t be entirely true as we set off north in April.

So back to some blogging. It’s been a while! After my few months back at work I now have an increased awareness of the the importance of the fronted adverbial, so reading should be a greater pleasure! Or maybe not as I left the definitive fronted adverbial list at my leaving do…

Published by

Plushprostate Adventures

We're having 5 months of new adventures...

6 thoughts on “Does twice make it tradition?”

  1. Good luck both! Hope it stays dry. Can’t believe where the last year has gone especially as today’s the anniversary day of your Grande Trip Francaise!

    Like

Leave a comment